Support Center

Using :Recover

Last Updated: Apr 10, 2019 07:57AM PDT
This article shows you how to configure :Recover for secure backup and restore of SSProtect content, and includes links to articles specific to individual features.

Introduction
:Recover is an optional SSProtect component that provides seamless backup/ restore capability for managed content. :Recover is an integral part of the patented cryptographic cloud offloading methodology provided by KODiAC Services, imposing no procedural changes to end-user workflows.

Use this article as your starting point to configure :Recover for Organizations and/ or Individual Accounts, then follow the links at the end of this article for additional information.

Licensing
:Recover requires an individual component License, which you can request using information in the article, License and Components Interface. Once your ISP responds to the request, you* will receive email confirming component availability. This process is more generally described in the article, Email Notifications.

* - It's worth noting that Individual Account holders are, behind the scenes, serving as the single Organization Administrator for their own, single-user unnamed Organization. You can in fact transition to formalized instantiation of this state with guidance offered by the article, Migrating to an Organization Account.

Licensing Impact
:Recover automatically goes into effect when added to an Individual Account, though after licensing for an Organization, you must independently enable :Recover for existing Accounts. New Accounts will by default start with :Recover configured, which you can of course disable before Saving (and thus dispatching Registration Email). Refer to the article, Managing Organization Users for more details.

Enable/ Disable :Recover for Organization Users
Use the Administer Users interface available to Privileged Users to configure :Recover for Organization Accounts:

 
  1. Click on the SSProtect icon in the notification tray, then choose Administer Users
  2. Choose the Manage submenu to go directly to the configuration display
  3. Choose the email address for the Account you want to modify, then choose Edit
  4. Check/ uncheck :Recover in the lower middle portion of the right side
  5. Adjust the AcctQuota to reserve Archive storage space for protected content
  6. Choose Save (or press <Enter>)



Enable/ Disable for an Individual Account (Yourself)
Individual Account holders navigate to Account Configuration then modify the :Recover checkbox directly. Changes to its' state are committed when the dialog is dismissed with OK:



Note that Account Configuration is available to Privileged and Unprivileged Organization Users, though the :Recover checkbox cannot in such cases be directly modified. This will be evidenced by supporting text below the control set referring Privileged Users to the Administer Users interface described above.

:Recover Quota
:Recover
assigns Quota Limits to each participating Account. Organizations use an encompassing Organization Quota that determines the amount of space available for distribution to Licensed Organization Accounts. Privileged Organization Users can change Quota distribution for Organization Accounts, but like Individual Account holders must submit a request to increase by sending email to support@definisec.com.

Organization Account Quota
Privileged Organization Users distribute Organization Quota across existing (and new) Accounts using the Administer Users interface. AcctQuota subtracts from (or adds to) the OrgAvail Quota, allowing you to distribute Quota to different Accounts as you see fit.

New Accounts automatically receive a Quota amount that equally distributes remaining OrgAvail space across unused Seat Licenses. For example, in the related screentshot, above, the Organization DefiniSec-Info has 2500 MB of OrgQuota space to distribute. However with 500 MB of OrgAvail and 1 remaining Seat License, a New Account will reserve the remaining 500 MB, finalizing the assignment on Save.

For detailed information, refer to the article, Archives and Quotas.

Dynamic Mode Switching
In order to put practical limits on the size of any :Recover item, the software supports Dynamic Mode Switching. When from the Account Configuration dialog you configure Dynamic Mode Switching with Prompt or Automatic, then subsequently initiate conversion (a Protect or Re-Protect transaction) using a file larger than the Threshold, the Operating Mode switches to Optimized Offloading. This engages an efficient set of methods to protect content without storing instance data or impacting storage Quota. This enforces a high limit on stored content that keeps from storing impractically large files.

Using Max :Recover Size Limits
When you choose not to utilize Dynamic Mode Switching, you can instead set a maximum file size for :Recover operations. If you attempt to protect content larger than this limit, execution will fail with notification that the target file exceeds policy size limits.

Enter a value of 0 to disable this feature, removing size limits from protected/ stored content.


Dynamic Switching and :Recover Maximum Scope
Dynamic Switching and also :Recover Maximum target file size limit settings apply to all SSProtect Users working within the same Windows Login, regardless of Organization or Account. As a result, changes to this setting impact all use on the target host computer.

This will be modified in the future to apply specifically to individual Accounts.

Impact of Removing :Recover from an Organization
If :Recover is removed from an Organization (after having been applied), the :Recover checkbox changes to :Recover (N/A), though the configuration remains, i.e. the checkbox will remain checked for Accounts configured to use :Recover. When editing the Account, the checkbox will remain gray and will not be available for change, though the AcctQuota will be. This allows you to make Quota adjustments even if you're waiting for changes to your Organization.

Of course, when you see :Recover (N/A), conversion utilizes Optimized Offloading. This applies equally to Account Configuration and Individual Account Quota.

As expected, re-applying :Recover to the Organization automatically re-enables it for Accounts previously configured to use it. Remember, however, that data is not stored in the Archive in between - operation will have transitioned back to Optimized Offloading, which will be reflected in all Reports and :Confidential Files Version progressions.

Accessing Archive Data
Archive Data is available with two specific operations - Restore and Rebuild. These differ considerably, and are offered by the :Confidential Files displays described in the article, Managing Host Data.

Refer to the article, Restoring and Rebuilding, for operational specifics.


For More Information
For information regarding product features and content, consult the Document Index, or send email with specific questions to support@definisec.com.

 

This article was updated w/ v9.1.4 of the :Foundation Client

Contact Us

true
ed5301d112e75fde24d469c55568f50b@definisec.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete