:Recover is an optional component that lets you store individuals versions of protected materials and recall them at any time, with very little effort. When operating with :Recover enabled, clients by default use the Double Encrypted Mode of operation rather than Optimized Offloading. For details related to Conversion techniques, see the article, Operating Modes.
:Recover is licensed for/ applied to an entire Organization, though must be individually enabled for each Organization Account. For Individual Accounts, once :Recover is licensed, it is automatically activated. For more information on requesting :Recover, see the article, License and Components Interface.
The remainder of this article explains :Recover Archives and Quotas, how they affect stored content, and how to configure details. For general information, refer to the article, Using :Recover.
Administrators and Delegates enable/ disable :Recover for Organization Accounts using the Administer Users display, accessible from the notification icon's context menu:
:Recover Quota is applied to an Organization as a whole, and negotiated at purchase. In this example, the Organization Quota is 12.5 GB, with the current Account allocating 500 MB for storage. This value can be changed by choosing the target Account, choosing Edit (the state shown above), modifying the Acct Quota amount, then choosing Save (at which point you will be prompted to Refresh Login). Be sure to check Backup/Restore to activate the service for the target Account, since the Quota is always present and can always be changed (see below).
The Available figure shows how much more you can add to the existing Quota value, i.e. you could choose to use all available space by entering 12500 in this example. Obviously, this would leave nothing for other users, though you can return and make changes to this figure at any time.
Individual Account Quota
Quota manipulation is slightly different for Individual (non-Organization) Accounts, and its' value is available in the Account Configuration display, also available from the notification icon's context menu. Changes cannot be made from this interface - Quota adjustments must be handled with email to email@example.com.
Every Account is assigned a default Quota when it is created, regardless of whether or not :Recover is enabled and/ or activated. This provides a starting point with which to work, and it can be changed at any time - even if not active for the target Account (except for Individual Accounts, which require Support requests for changes).
Note: You will not be prompted to Refresh Login if changes are applied to an Account not actively using :Recover at that time.
When The Quota Is Met
When you convert a file that would end up storing more data in the Archive than permitted by your Account Quota, the system attempts to remove the oldest files in the Archive to make space. This can sometimes require removal of more than one file. Each removed file is listed in the File Report and noted as a Quota Limit operation just before the Encrypt entry. In the (abbreviated) example below, version 4 of the same file being converted (protected/encrypted) was removed to make space:
Don't forget that the system always starts with the oldest file in the Archive, not old versions of the file you're converting. This example just happened to end up using the source file because its' oldest version was the oldest in the Archive.
Keeping The Last 3 Versions
The system will never remove any of the last 3 versions of any file. If there is not enough material older than the 3rd version of a file, the operation will fail and you will receive a general failure notification referring you to the Logfile. Right-click the notification tray icon and choose, Display Logfile, then toward the end of your file you will see the following (or similar):
00018728 - [2015/11/10-12:57:18:786] -ERROR- CryptoServer SendFile (Close) failed; the given file pushes the archive past the quota. Check with your Administrator to adjust policy or make more room.
This error is not generated until the end of an attempted conversion upload - the server relies on actual data, not the size indication of a file (which is not reliable).
IMPORTANT: You can choose to extend the minimum number of files kept in the Archive, or choose not to use a limit at all, which means no file is ever removed. We strongly recommend this latter approach, though it can dramatically increase the required Quota. Speak to your DefiniSec Representative to make sure you are using the best choice for your needs. Also note that this figure can be changed at any time, and it goes into effect immediately.
Increasing Your Limits
Talk to your Administrator for an increase in storage when you reach the Account Quota limit. Increases to this value take place immediately. If your Organization needs more overall space, contact your DefiniSec Sales representative to discuss options. If needs are extensive, the team can and will provide immediate relief while other business details are handled.
SSProtect stores additional data associated with system state and user behavior. This does not count against Account Quota - only files protected by the software are stored in the Archive and counted against the limit.
Managing Server Content
The Archive cannot be modified by Administrators, Users, or Delegates, though it can be viewed and used as a source for Restoration. Files that are converted (protected/encrypted) get stored in the Archive until the Account Quota is met, at which point policy determines which of the oldest files are candidates to make more space for newer content - unless of course you are operating without this restriction. Remember, you can make adjustments to this policy at any time with a request to Support or to your Sales Representative.
:xRecovery is an additional optional component that allows Administrators to access the entire content of the Archive in a secure, online or offline fashion. This service allows Restoration of all files, or the latest versions of each file, for a given Organization Account or for all Accounts at the same time. This applies even if an Account has been re-assigned, i.e., "Deleted" and the Seat re-assigned to a new user (Account). For details, start with the article, Abbreviated Procedures for :xRecovery.
For More Information
For information regarding product features and content, consult the Document Index, or send email with specific questions to firstname.lastname@example.org.
This article was updated w/ v4.9.3 of the :Foundation Client