Support Center

Updating the :Foundation Client

Last Updated: Mar 14, 2019 08:19PM PDT
This article shows you how to update SSProtect, with reference to technical details that can be used to maintain host installation integrity.

Automatic Updates
SSProtect uses an automatic Update procedure that is simple, yet requires end-user participation before changes are made. This avoids difficulties that come with unexpected host modification.

Login Update Notification
Update notification takes place after successful SSProtect Login. Privileged Organization Users and Individual Account holders can dismiss Update prompts eternally, though Non-Privileged Organization Users are permitted to do so only the first time it's presented. This provides a mechanism for addressing time-critical tasks without bypassing ongoing maintenance.

Update Performance
SSProtect Updates are relatively fast, even when applied in entirety. FAST UPDATEs, on the other hand, are exceptionally fast, and can complete in a matter of seconds. See the end of this article for details.

Update Windows Account Privileges and Elevation
Some Updates require privilege escalation to execute, though with every release the need to do so is avoided as much as possible, at priority. In general, FAST UPDATE does not require elevation, and changes are in-process to further reduce this need as much as possible.

Depending on your Windows login credentials and User Account Control settings, when elevated privileges are required for an Update, you may be prompted by the OS to permit ongoing execution. If your Windows Account does not permit privilege elevation, you will need to rely on those responsible for managing the host environment (usually your IT department) to apply the Update on your behalf. Contact our Support team for details.

Releasing Updates to Organization Users
Organization Updates were designed for administrative review and testing before full deployment to all Users. As such, Privileged Users receive notification for the latest release, which must be reviewed and approved for others before Non-Privileged Users have visibility.

This creates a cycle that can be utilized by administrative teams to download, apply, test, and regress an Update to make sure it is suitable before applying it full-scale. Testing and regression are specific to each target environment, and are not required by SSProtect.

Procedure for Releasing an Update to Non-Privileged Organization Users
When you Login to SSProtect as an Administrator or Delegate for an Organization, you will not only be prompted to Update your own software, but also given the chance to navigate to the Administer Resources display to release the Update for the rest of the Organization (as noted above):

 
  1. Login to SSProtect
  2. From the Notification Tray, click the SSProtect icon to display the Context Menu
  3. Choose the Administer Resources menu item
  4. At the bottom, click the Set Version button to release the latest Update

Once you carry out this task, the associated version then becomes available to Non-Privileged Users who will be prompted to Update with their next SSProtect Login request.

Reverting to Previous Versions
You can back out of an Update by returning to the Administer Resources interface to use the Revert button that now replaces what used to be a grayed Set Version button. Use this to remove the most recently applied Update from visibility to Non-Privileged Users.

NOTE: If any individual has proceeded with the most recent Update package, you will have to manually uninstall the software and re-install the older package - Revert does not make any changes to the target environment, it only precludes future notification of the related Update.


Suppressing :Privileged Update Notification
Privileged Organization Accounts and Individual Account holders can Suppress Update notification on SSProtect Login, effectively bypassing the release or installation of a specific Update package without the hassle of continuous prompting. Navigate to the Administer Resources display and, when an Update is available, click Suppress. This button is a toggle - use Unsuppress to undo your action.

Suppression is specific to the Update available at the time it is activated, and it applies to all Accounts on the local host computer regardless of Organization membership. If a new Update is released, Suppression is, "reset" so you have visibility into the newer package for further review.

NOTE: You can, at any time and independent from Suppression, choose Set Version to release the Update to the rest of the Organization.


FAST UPDATE
SSProtect supports a unique Update capability, in certain cases, that performs Updates in 5-10 seconds. When a FAST UPDATE is available, it is specifically noted in the Update prompt. Accepting the prompt applies the changes in several seconds and immediately returns to the Login prompt. This mechanism is more completely described in the reference materials provided below.


Additional Resources
For further technical details, see the article, Install and Update Details. You can also search this site for more information on various topics, or use 
this link to submit a specific request. You can also send email directly to support@definisec.com, and our staff will respond to your needs as soon as possible.

In the meantime, don't forget to check out our primary website and Insights columns for information on current trends, security topics, and how our technologies relate.

 

This article was updated w/ v9.0.3 of the :Foundation Client

Contact Us

ed5301d112e75fde24d469c55568f50b@definisec.desk-mail.com
https://cdn.desk.com/
false
desk
Loading
seconds ago
a minute ago
minutes ago
an hour ago
hours ago
a day ago
days ago
about
false
Invalid characters found
/customer/en/portal/articles/autocomplete